Conference commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Carpatho-Balkan Geomorphological Commission

Between 24 and 28 June 2013 the Institute of Geography of the Slovak and Polish Academy of Sciences organized the 50th jubilee conference of the Carpatho-Balkan Geomorphological Commission (CBGC) in Slovakia, in the mountain resort of Stará Lesná (part of Tatranska Lomnica). The first International Symposium on Geomorphology of the Carpathians was organized by the Department of Geomorphology and Hydrology of Mountains and Uplands of the Institute of Geography of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Geography of the Slovak Academy of Sciences between 16 and 26 September 1963. The symposium started in Cracow, continued with excursions from Poland to Slovakia and finished in Bratislava.

The main aim of the Commission was not only the exchange of knowledge and experience on the geomorphological research of the Carpatho-Balkan mountain system, but also to fulfil common research tasks. The participants were Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia. Several studies, journals (*Studia Geomorphologica Carpatho-Balcanica*) and maps dealing with the geomorphology of the Carpathian region have been produced.

The conference organized this year was the 11th during the 50-year-long history of the Commission. Similar meetings were organized in other scientific centres of the Carpathian region, for example, in Sofia (1966), Bucureşti (1970), Budapest (1975), Prešov (1982), Debrecen (1987), Băile Herculane-Orşova (1998), Bratislava (2003), Pécs (2007) and Ostravice (2011). Currentí problem areas, research trends and the results of the workshop were



The participants of the post-conference excursion at the Morskie Oko

presented during the sessions. Six internationally acknowledged geomorphologists were appointed as the presidents of the Commission: Mieczyslaw KLIMASZEWSKI (1963–1978), Emil MAZÚR (1978–1987), Zoltán PINCZÉS (1987–1998), Dan BĂLTEANU (1998–2003), Miloš STANKOVIANSKY (2003–2007) and Dénes Lóczy (2007–2013).

The International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG/AIG) endorsed the creation of the Carpatho-Balkan-Dinaric Regional Working Group (CBDRWG) in 2005. The working group was active during the period of 2005–2009 under the presidency of Miloš STANKOVIANSKY. The IAG prolonged its operation for the period of 2009–2013. The member states of CBDRWG are Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine. Thus the research area of the CBGC was extended to include the Dinarides too. The most important result of the cooperation of geomorphologists among the CBGC and IAG CBDRWG member countries is the monograph titled *Recent Landform Evolution – The Carpatho-Balkan-Dinaric Region* edited by Dénes Lóczy, Miloš STANKOVIANSKY and Adam KOTARBA, published by Springer in 2012. Eleven member countries out of twelve contributed to the national chapters of the book.

In June 2013 geomorphologists from the member countries of the Commission took part in the jubilee conference and showed their 38 presentations and 26 posters on their investigations. The 9 sessions (including two poster sessions) covered the following topics: paleohydrology (four lectures), fluvial geomorphology (11) being a focus of geomorphological research nowadays because of recurring extreme weather conditions, sessions of slope processes (6) as well as a miscellaneous session (with 17 papers).

Hungary was represented with the most numerous (13) delegation arrived from the University of Szeged, University of Pécs, Eötvös Loránd University and Geographical Institute RCAES HAS (Budapest) and University of Debrecen. In addition, we listened to 7 Polish, 5 Romanian, 5 Slovak, 6 Czech and 2 Slovenian lectures and studied 10 Romanian, 7 Hungarian, 4 Polish, 5 Slovak and 1 Slovenian posters in the poster session. They were associated with the research topics presented during the lectures. We met several excellent examples of international research on the Carpathian Basin and the Carpathian mountain chain during the three days of the conference.

The Joint Council Meeting was organized on Thursday evening whene Dénes Lóczy, who was the president between 2007 and 2013, resigned and the new president Petru URDEA from Romania (West University of Timişoara) introduced himself and was elected at the meeting. In addition, Leszek STARKEL, the first General Secretary of the Commission, and Miloš STANKOVIANSKY, the Chair of the Carpatho-Balkan-Dinaric Regional Working Group, recalled the important events of the last 50 years (1963–2013). They talked about former meetings, excursions, publications and the activity of the working groups in the last 50 years. At the end of the conference we took part in an excursion. Its destination was the Polish Tatra Mountains, the Morskie Oko tarn and the Chocholowska Dolina valley. We observed unique alpine landforms, the processes which formed them as well as the stages of their development in the Tatras. On the trip we experienced the competence and hospitality of the Polish colleagues, namely Zofia RĄczkowska, Adam KotarBA and Piotr KŁAPYTA.

We would like to thank the Slovakian colleagues for all memorable experiences, especially Jan Novotny and Milos Lehotský for hosting, the organization of high quality and the continuation of the 50 years tradition.

ZSANETT KOPECSKÓ and Mónika KOVÁCS